THE BEETLES’ STORY (…continued – part 2)

“So why did you?”

“First time I encountered a mud storm.  Besides, I can’t predict the future.  Did your instinct tell you not to come?”

“No, but it warned me not to trust you.”

“Well why did you?”

“Because we were friends.”

“It’s too late for regrets now.  Go your own way.”

“First you get me out of this jungle, it’s your fault.”

“Stop the winging, woman!  It makes me lose my concentration.”

“Your concentration, as you call it, led us through a mud storm.”

“So you said.  Stop the fucking blame game.  I’ll get you out of here any way I can.”

“I’m better off on my own.”

“One minute ago you said…  Oh, suit yourself, I’m going.”

Several hours go by.  As fate has it, the two used-to-be-bugs-friends’ paths cross again.  Redbeet is a she red beetle, Shinybeet is a shiny, he multi-coloured beetle.  Redbeet is stuck in the mud and is sinking very slowly into it.  If this continues, she’s going to drown in it.  She’s lost her two back legs already.  She’s in no pain but she can’t move.  This time, Redbeet seems happy to see Shinybeet again.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

