THE BEETLES’ STORY (…continued – Part 3)

“Are you still here?” Shinybeet exclaims.

“What does it look like to you?”

“No need to be rude.  I could help you.”

“Who told you I was stuck?”

“No one.  I went around in a circle.”

“I knew I couldn’t trust you.”

“You don’t seem the better off for it.”

“Maybe, but I still have legs and now I know how not to get lost again.”

“Tell me.”

“I’m going to drop a pee every fifty meters so I can smell where my trace is coming from and go in a straight line.”

“How do you know it’s going to work?”

“Basic instinct on survival skills.”

“Really? You’re kind of confident for a guy who walks in circles.”

“It didn’t make me loose legs and reason.”

“What’s this about reason?”

“I’d better be going.”

“What about me?”

“What about you?”

“You could get a leaf, attach it to a stick, load me on and drag me away.”

“That’s what I meant by reason…  Besides, I’d be delayed.”

“Delayed?”

“In my quest for survival.”

“I’m sinking can’t you see?  You were going to take me away from the crazy world we lived in.  You even mentioned kids.  We’d improve the world, you and I.”

“It was only a suggestion.  You were desperate and I knew it would make you happy.”

“Well, thank you very much you hypocritical skunk!”

“Skunk?”

“Your entire being reeks of lies and deceit.”

“I offered you freedom.  Look at me, I’m free.  My family is long gone and I make friends as I go.”

“Love them and leave them right?”

“Precisely.”

“You’re going to let me die here all of my own?”

“I’d rather not watch.”

“Help me out for God’s sake!”

“I’ll help you out of the mud but then you’re on your own.”

“I’m missing a couple of legs.”

“I saw that.  You can still drag yourself.”

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

