THE BEETLES’ STORY (…continued – Part 4)

“I wish I were human.”

“Huh!  You’d be in pain.”

“I could crush you with one foot.”

“Shut up and hold my front arms before I change my mind!” Shinybeet says, positioning himself in front of Redbeet, ready to drag her out of the mud.

The two struggle for a while.  Shinybeet pulls, Redbeet holds on tight.  But Shinybeet falls backwards with Redbeet’s two front legs still tucked under his arms.

“Fuck!” they both exclaim.

“Look what you’ve done now!  Look what you’ve done!” Redbeet bellows in a panic.

“All I did was to try and help you.  I did my best.  You’re done, mate.”

“No, no, no.  You won’t get away with this.  Now you get a fucking leaf and load me on!”

“You never give up do you?”

“I want to live.”

“You’ve got two legs left, you want to risk them?”

“Night is falling; we need to find a shelter.”

Complacent and suffering from a pang of guilt, Shinybeet, with tremendous effort, attempts to load Redbeet onto a leaf.  It is too late: the mud has dried and Redbeet cannot be pulled out.  The mud is as solid as concrete.

“I’ve got an idea,” Shinybeet says.  “I’ve got acquaintances.  They’ll help us out, don’t you despair.”

“Hurry, I’m hungry,” Redbeet says.

“Not my problem,” Shinybeet answers, disappearing out of Redbeet’s sight.

“Don’t leave me on my own, you coward!”

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

