THE BEETLES’ STORY (…continued – Part 5)

A very long time seemingly goes by – at least from Redbeet’s point of view.  How long is it going to take before death finally strikes?  Is it going to be painful?  So far, so good, she thinks, only she wishes she didn’t have to wait for it.  Could it not all be finished by now?  She can’t even do anything about it by herself.  Holding her breath is too difficult.  If a bird comes, it’s going to be tough.  If rain pours, she might live or she might sink, there’s no telling.  She has had enough of her wandering thoughts all focusing on the manner of her death.  As she looks up to the sky wondering about the weather and if God exists, a tiny black spider shows up just a few meters above her, hanging from a tree branch.  It is descending towards Redbeet, cautious.

“Hey Ma’am,” it says to Redbeet.

“Go away!”

“You look stuck.”

“I’m not having that type of conversation.”

“It’s worse than I thought,” Spidey shouts from the top of his lungs.

“Can you or can you not do it?” asks Shinybeet, who has just reappeared.

“Course I can, you know me.”

“I thought you were as lost as I was in this jungle,” Redbeet says to Shinybeet, “how do you two know each other?”

“I’m going to have to attach you to your remaining legs,” Spidey says to Redbeet, “Will they hold?”

“You’re microscopic, a Lilliputian.  Pass your way.  You can’t help me,” says Redbeet, despondent.

“Not by the legs,” Shinybeet instructs.

“I’d need to go underneath her so I can secure her and pull her off the ground,” Spidey says.

“By the head?” Shinybeet suggest.

“What? Not by my head!  Are you crazy?  What’s got into you?” Redbeet interjects.

“If my calucations are right, your head weight is in better proportion to your body weight than your legs.  It should work,” Spidey says.

“Your calculations have got nothing to do with your instinct, have they?”

“I’m an engineer.  I know for a fact that your neck is thicker than your legs and that it is better attached to your body than your legs.”

“Ok, you may be good with webs but my body is outside your scope of work.”

“I’m very good at my job and my interests are wide and varied.”

“What if it doesn’t work?”

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

